Journey to Network Engineer

Journey to Network Engineer

Working to get the goal of being called an engineer or even possibly an architect will be the dream of my professional career. The start of this journey was gradual but I have been blessed with a consistent progression to where I am now and will continue to improve my knowledge of networks and other IT disciplines. My next goal might be the CCNA just to have that checked off my list and then work on getting my CCNP (not sure what concentration I should choose yet.

Start of my journey

My journey to Network Administrator started like most others starting in IT... the help desk. I started by getting a position at a small MSP(managed service provider), where I learned a big chunk of my IT knowledge. This step is something I would recommend to anyone wanting to get into IT to start that will allow a lot of exposure to different technologies in the IT field. After the MSP I moved on to a more enterprise working opportunity at a financial institute setting up and configuring high-class servers and network equipment. There is where I grow to love the networking discipline and have it as my focus for my studies for future career improvements.

Next steps of my journey

I want to start writing topic-specific articles on different things my current workplace is getting me involved with to further grasp the topics and continue growing as a network engineer. I will be making more in-depth articles here and more general posts on Medium for further reach and involved with more discussions. I hope I can get you involved with this process.

Goals:

  • CCNA

  • CCNP ENCOR - no hurry (2024 maybe)

  • CCNP (consentration)